Follow us

Profile

Our History

Turning Points in the History of AFOCSC
The Past

On January 1, 1998, after lengthy political, legal, and constitutional efforts, the Ontario government gave the Franco-Ontarian community the power to manage its elementary and secondary schools.  The province’s francophones have become full-fledged stakeholders in the education system through new district school boards.

The community manages its education facilities, the accompanying financial and material resources, and the future of its student population. Since governance was granted, the new French-language school boards have worked to improve the education system and its students’ success.

To support them in carrying out this new responsibility, the Catholic school boards established AFOCSC.

Still today, AFOCSC ensures that this responsibility which was legally and exclusively conferred to the Franco-Ontarian community is met and maintained by participating in every aspect of management be it through setting up advisory committees, drafting legislation or participating in the review of financial formulas. Collectively, the goal of AFOCSC is to express the needs of the Franco-Ontarian community and to attest to the success of its mandate to those who have decision-making power including the leaders of our political institutions.

The Importance of Strategic Planning
The Present

To know where we are going, it is important to know where we have been.  It is essential that we glimpse into the past to understand the present landscape. This allows us to not only identify lessons learned but also to identify our strengths and confirm the gains we have made. Such an analysis can serve as a guide as we develop new visions and new strategies.
It invites us to look at how the team evolved, at how the community organised and how past events and factors contributed to the current situation.
This exercise helps pinpoint our organizational capacity and identifies our overall skill and knowledge sets, acquired through time; these are the main strategic assets of any organization.
The results are an important source of data and a reference for understanding the evolution and growth of an organization. Both intuitive and rational methods serve in gathering information from all available sources and in analysing facts and data as we research and evaluate our present standing in today’s landscape. This research helps determine how we will choose to position ourselves, favourably or strategically, in that landscape to achieve our common vision.
It is in this spirit that the Board of Directors of the AFOCSC prepared for its strategic planning meeting which took place in Ottawa on Jan 11-12, 2008.  They met after gathering data from key players in the advancement of the AFOCSC namely its members including education directorates, student trustees and partners. This data served to assess the level of satisfaction within the organization and to obtain leads and recommendations to help shape a new strategic plan. This was also an opportunity to gather pertinent data on the current state of catholicity, student performance and target client populations to facilitate clear decision-making regarding strategies to adopt over the next five years.

French-language Catholic education comes from the heart
The Future

The strategic reflection session that took place on January 11-12 identified AFOCSC as an important link in the wonderful chain of life.  Just like the artist who, from the bottom of his soul, creates an inspired painting from a beautiful landscape, the prime directives and strategic orientation for the period 2008-2013, took shape.
It is in the spirit of celebration of the added value of a French-language Catholic education that AFOCSC prepares for the future. The Association sees itself as an essential link, a bridge between the Church and school, between school and family and between family and community. In this way, AFOCSC will continue to actively participate and promote the growth of the French-language Catholic education system in all of its political and community undertakings.
If Catholic education comes from the heart, it is the student who is at the heart of AFOCSC.  Academic success, building identity and instilling pride in our francophone students are all elements that will continue to guide AFOCSC’s strategic interventions over the coming years.  In AFOCSC’s view, culture and religion are one in building student identity.
AFOCSC recognises that working together within a francophone minority environment is essential to attain the required resources and capital assets for its development and to ensure the vitality of French-language educational institutions in Ontario. AFOCSC will continue to strengthen its ties with partners who seek to promote the success of all students.
AFOCSC is at the service of its members. Over the next years, AFOCSC will seek to reinforce ties and increase communication, shared data and best practices. AFOCSC will continue to build its capacity to better meet the needs of its prime clientele namely, Ontario’s French-language Catholic school trustees.
And, to ensure its own growth as an educational organization, AFOCSC will use effective strategies to become more efficient and effective in all of its undertakings.

Partners

Suivez-nous

Profil

Historique

D'hier à aujourd'hui, les moments marquants de l'AFOCSC
Hier

À la suite d’un effort soutenu et concerté, le 1er janvier 1998, la communauté franco-ontarienne se voyait accorder par le gouvernement de l’Ontario la gestion complète de ses écoles élémentaires et secondaires. L’Ontario, par l’entremise des nouveaux conseils scolaires de district, sont devenus depuis, des intervenants à part entière dans le système éducatif de la province.

La communauté gère elle-même ses installations éducatives, les ressources financières et matérielles qui les accompagnent ainsi que le cheminement de sa population étudiante. Les nouveaux conseils scolaires de langue française doivent maintenant concentrer et concerter leurs efforts pour améliorer le système d’éducation.

Pour appuyer cette nouvelle responsabilité, les conseils scolaires catholiques ont créé l’Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC).

Encore aujourd’hui, l’AFOCSC veille à assurer la gestion exclusive conférée légalement à notre communauté lors de la mise sur pied d’une grande variété de comités aviseurs, de la rédaction de projets de loi et lors d’exercices de révision de la formule de financement. Collectivement, il nous revient d’exprimer nos besoins et de témoigner l’atteinte de nos résultats aux décideurs et aux têtes dirigeantes des institutions politiques.

L'analyse de l'environnement
Aujourd'hui

Avant de définir où on va, il est important de définir d’où on vient. Il est essentiel de scruter son environnement, de se tourner momentanément vers le passé afin de déterminer les champs de forces. Cette analyse stratégique permet également de ressortir les leçons apprises, de conserver les forces acquises par le passé afin de les appliquer dans la nouvelle vision et dans les nouvelles stratégies.
L’analyse stratégique incite aussi à se pencher sur l’évolution de l’équipe, de l’organisation et de la communauté, à faire une rétrospective sur les événements et sur les facteurs qui ont contribué à l’état de la situation actuelle. C’est une démarche qui sert à dresser le portrait courant de la capacité organisationnelle de l’organisation, de même que le portrait global des compétences et des connaissances acquises qui s’avèrent notamment les actifs stratégiques principaux d’une organisation.

Cette analyse environnementale est une source essentielle de données dans l’évolution d’une organisation. L’analyse, effectuée de façon tant rationnelle qu’intuitive, fait appel à la logique, à l’analyse des faits et de données probantes provenant de l’évaluation, de la recherche ou d’autres sources d’information pertinentes afin de bien comprendre son environnement et de se positionner favorablement ou stratégiquement dans cet environnement pour évoluer vers la réalisation de la vision commune.

C’est dans cet esprit que l’AFOCSC a préparé sa démarche de préparation à une réflexion stratégique qui a rassemblé ses membres de conseil d’administration à Ottawa les 11 et 12 janvier 2008. Elle avait préalablement obtenu des données auprès de ses membres, des directions de l’éducation, des élèves conseillers et de ses partenaires. Ces données issues de joueurs clés dans son évolution lui ont permis de sonder le degré de satisfaction et d’obtenir des pistes et des recommandations sur ses visées stratégiques. Elle a également réuni des données pertinentes sur la catholicité aujourd’hui, sur le rendement des élèves, de même que sur les populations cibles afin d’assurer une prise de décision éclairée sur les stratégies à privilégier pour les cinq prochaines années.

…l’éducation catholique de langue française, une habitude de cœur
Demain

La séance de réflexion stratégique des 11 et 12 janvier a permis de regarder l’AFOCSC comme un maillon qui a sa place et son importance dans la formidable chaîne de la vie. Comme l’artiste regardant le paysage qui s’étend devant lui et qui le peint sur la toile en y mettant son âme et ses couleurs, les grandes orientations stratégiques 2008-2013 ont pris forme.
C’est dans un esprit de célébration de la valeur ajoutée de l’éducation catholique de langue française que l’AFOCSC envisage son avenir. Elle se voit un pont essentiel entre l’Église et l’école, entre l’école et la famille, entre la famille et la communauté. Ainsi, elle continuera de participer activement à la croissance du système catholique de langue française dans ses interventions politiques et communautaires.

Si l’éducation catholique de langue française est une habitude de cœur, l’élève est au cœur de l’AFOCSC. C’est la réussite scolaire de l’élève, la construction de son identité et l'expression de sa fierté d'être francophone qui continueront de guider ses interventions stratégiques des prochaines années. Pour l’AFOCSC, la culture et la religion ne font qu’un dans la construction identitaire de l’élève.

L’AFOCSC reconnaît l’importance de la concertation dans un milieu minoritaire francophone pour la mobilisation des ressources ou des capitaux nécessaires à son développement et à la vitalité des institutions éducatives de l’Ontario français. Elle entend renforcer davantage ses liens avec ses partenaires voués à la réussite de tous les élèves.

L’AFOCSC est au service de ses membres. Au cours des prochaines années, ses interventions viseront le renforcement des liens, des communications, du partage d’informations et de pratiques exemplaires. L’AFOCSC renforcera ses propres capacités pour mieux répondre aux besoins de sa clientèle première, les conseillères et conseillers scolaires catholiques francophones de l’Ontario.

Enfin, pour assurer sa propre évolution comme organisme, l’AFOCSC s’est donné des résultats stratégiques visant une plus grande efficience et efficacité dans ses interventions et dans son fonctionnement.

Partenaires